Deployment - Additional Notes
This help page provides additional user guidance relating to policy deployment actions.
•Whilst defining a new policy you can perform intermediate Save operations to ensure your work is not lost.
Note that once your policy is deployed it is not possible to edit it further (though it can be duplicated and the resulting copy is editable).
•Active policies can be viewed or duplicated after deployment.
•Any policy deployed successfully on an endpoint replaces the previous one as the active policy.
•A device cannot be present multiple times or included in different logical groups.
•Groups cannot be further nested or otherwise classified.
•Within the web console, when creating or editing Device Groups, the system displays only the groups permitted for insertion, this means that groups containing any devices that you have previously added are not listed as available for selection.
Following successful deployment, policies can only be viewed, duplicated, or removed.
Note that removing a deployed policy will not remove it or inactivate it from the endpoints where it was active – such a policy can only be replaced later via a new deployment.
To create a new version of an existing, successfully deployed policy, you must use the Duplicate action to create a new draft, and then Edit the new draft.
•Duplicate will copy the main properties of the policy, the complete list of rules, and the complete list of added devices.
•Manually including a version number in the name of your policy is recommended.
Installation (opens UWM Help)