Environment Manager powered by AppSense

Access Rights

Control the authorized users for administration of the Personalization Server and define who can access and change Environment Manager console settings.

The user that configures the Personalization Server Configuration Portal is automatically added to the database as a Master Administrator. Initially this is the only user that can connect to the database through the console. This user can then add users to the database.

Any user can be added and deleted but at least one Master Administrator must always be defined. Users who are not defined here cannot connect their console to the Personalization Server. This only applies to the console and not managed users logging onto endpoints.

In this section:

User Roles

Administrator

The Administrator role provides access to the functionality in the Environment Manager Console. Administrators also have access to the Advanced Mode of the Endpoint Self-Service Tool when the tool is enabled for a Personalization Group. Administrators cannot manage or assign other user roles.

Master Administrator

The Master Administrator role allows the user to manage roles assignment and provides full access to the Environment Manager Console and Browser Interface functionality. Master Administrators also have access to the Advanced Mode of the Endpoint Self-Service Tool when the tool is enabled for a Personalization Group. At least one Master Administrator must always be defined.

Support Console

The Support Console provides read-only access to Environment Manager Personalization configurations and allows users to view Personalization Analysis reports. Support Console users can also use the associated analysis functionality, such as rolling back application settings. Using this role, support teams can safely carry out routine maintenance for end users in a restricted environment, without full access to modify the configuration.

When a user with a Support Console role connects, functionality to modify the personalization configuration is automatically disabled and the console changes to a blue color scheme.

Application Team

The Application Team console offers limited access to Environment Manager Personalization configurations and allows users to add, modify and delete applications and Application Groups and view Personalization Analysis reports. Application Team users can also use Personalization Analysis functionality, such as rolling back application settings and converting discovered applications.

When a user with the Application Team role connects, functionality to modify some of the personalization configuration is automatically disabled and the console changes to a blue color scheme.

Permissions

Environment Manager Console

Action Admin Master Admin Support Console Application Team
Create New Personalization Groups
Configure Personalization Group Settings
Configure Personalization Group Membership Rules
Configure Personalization Group Applications
Configure Personalization Group Windows Personalization
Configure Application and Application Groups
Configure Windows Personalization
Configure Sites
Configure User Roles
Configure Advanced Settings
Access Personalization Analysis
Read Access to Console

Endpoint Self-Service Tool

Action Admin Master Admin Support Console Application Team
Run in Basic Mode
Run in Advanced Mode

Configure Console Access Rights

  1. Select the User Personalization navigation button.
  2. Click Access Rights from the Manage ribbon.
  3. The Access Rights dialog displays.
  4. Click Add. The Select User or Group dialog box displays which searches the Active Directory for users and groups which match entered criteria. The Advanced search button expands the dialog enabling the search to be further defined.
  5. Select the required user or group and click OK. The user or group will be assigned the User role by default.
  6. Click the Role column for the user or group to change the role to one of the following:
    • Master Administrator
    • Administrator
    • Support Console
    • Application Team
  7. The list can be updated as follows:
    • Click Remove to remove a user or group from the list
    • Click the ellipsis in the name column of any group or user to change the group or user
    • Click the role column for a user or group to change the role
  8. When all users and groups are configured as required, click Close.

Related Topics


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other