Environment Manager powered by AppSense

Archive Reports

In this section:

About Archive Reports

All managed application’s stored user personalization settings are archived daily, recording the user’s settings for each application and creating a restore point per application. The default daily archive is set at 1.00 am. This can be amended to any convenient time using the DailyArchiveStartTime Global Setting.

For details of how to change the DailyArchiveStartTime setting, see Advanced Settings.

Manual archives can also be created when required. Each archive can be used to return an application’s settings to the position they were in at the time of the archive.

Environment Manager detects duplicate files within new application, Application Group and Windows Settings Group archives. Within the database, only one copy is stored regardless of how many archives the file exists in. This provides a large reduction in database size compared to previous versions of Environment Manager.

Archive reports list all archive points created for the managed applications of a selected user.

Manually Archive Application Data

  1. Generate an Archive report for the required user.
  2. Click Display.

    The report is created and a list of managed applications displays for the selected user. Each application entry in the report shows the EXE name, application version and operating system. The existing archive(s) for each application are listed beneath the application, accessed by expanding the tree.

  3. Select the application for which you want to create an archive.
  4. Right-click and select Archive [application] now...

An archive is created which stores the personalization settings defined by the user for that application, at the time the archive is created. The date and time at which the archive was created is used as the archive name.

If the user has the application open at the time the archive is created, these settings are not taken into account. The settings as they were the last time the application was closed and synchronized with the database are archived.

Roll Back an Application

This option returns a user’s application settings to a previous state as recorded at an archive point. If a user’s settings for a particular application become corrupted or are not as expected by that user, they may want to return them to a state when the application was successfully operating.

Select the required application in the Archive report and expand the tree beneath to display the related archives. Select the required archive, right-click and select Roll back to this archive.

The rollback replaces the current settings in the database for that application with the settings at the time of the archive. The next time the user accesses that application, their settings are reset.

Modify Archives

This option allows you to change the protection settings for an archive - protection can be added or removed for an archive.

  1. Select the required application in the Archive report and expand the tree beneath to display the related archives.
  2. Highlight the required archive, right-click and select Modify archive.

    The Modify Archive dialog displays.

  3. Select the Protect archive checkbox as required. Only one archive can be protected per application.
  4. Add or update the archive description if required.
  5. Click OK to commit the changes.

Delete Archives

Unprotected archives can be deleted as required using one of the options from the shortcut menu:

  • Delete an archive - Select the required archive, right-click and select Delete this archive.
  • Delete all archives for an application - Select an application, right-click and select Delete all archives for [application]

Protected archives cannot be deleted. Use the Modify Archive option to remove protection from an archive before deleting.

Related Topics


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other