Global policy

Set restrictions on platform, IP address, timeout and login attempts that apply to all your users.

In the Admin console, select Policy > Global and click Edit. When all required changes have been made, click Save.

In this section:

Client access

Platform/Client Login Restrictions

Specify which platforms can log on to File Director on your server. Click Edit and toggle the policy for each platform to On or Off as required. When complete, click Save.

Platform restrictions can also be set for individually for each Map Point. Global restrictions take precedence over those set at Map Point level - if you disable a platform at the global level, it is disabled for all users regardless of the setting on their Map Point.

The table below illustrates this behavior.

Platform Global Map Point Effect
Windows On On Users for that Map Point can access the File Director server through Windows.
Mac On Off Users for that Map Point cannot access your server on a Mac as the Global setting is overridden.
iOS Off Off Users cannot access your server on an iOS device regardless of their Map Point.
Android Off On Users cannot access your server on an Android device regardless of their Map Point as the Map Point setting is overridden.

IP address login restrictions (2020.3 and earlier)

Failed login attempts

The 2021.1 release of removes the requirement for an external SQL database resulting in a simplified policy for handling failed login attempts.

Failed Login Attempts Policy

This policy allows you to set the number of consecutive failed login attempts before a user is locked out for the specified time period.

Click Edit and set the number of consecutive failed login attempts before a user is locked out for the specified time period.

Enter a minutes value between 1-60

Enter login attempts value between 1-99

When complete, click Save.

If the policy is exceeded the lockout status is persisted only for the duration specified or until the administrator manually unlocks the user account. See Locked Users.

Any locked status is automatically removed if the cluster fails to exist - such as when applying a patch that requires all nodes within the cluster to be rebooted.

Sharing

File Director 2020.2 and earlier included policy options to allow file sharing.
Refer to the user help for File sharing

Related topics