File Director powered by AppSense

Ivanti File Director is the new name for AppSense DataNow

Mac

The information in this topic relates to the 3.6.5 Mac client and as such, still references the previous name for File Director, DataNow.

In this section:

Installation

Your IT Support department will provide you with a download location when they notify you that the DataNow service is available.

Download the installer file for the Mac and click to start the install.

You must have valid administrator credentials to install DataNow.

  1. Click the DataNow Installer.pkg file.
  2. From the Introduction screen, click Continue.
  3. Read the terms of use and click Continue. You can print or save the terms of use by clicking the appropriate buttons.

    A dialog displays giving access to the license agreement.

  4. If you agree with the terms of the License Agreement, click Agree. If you want to read the agreement again, click Read License.
  5. From the Destination Select screen, click Continue. DataNow can only be installed on the root directory.
  6. Click Install to complete the remainder of the installer. When prompted, enter valid credentials to approve the installation and click Install Software.
  7. After the installation completes, click Close.

The DataNow icon appears in Applications.

The DataNow folder

To access your DataNow folder, click on the DataNow icon in the status bar and select the folder icon from the DataNow user interface.

Alternatively, browse the folder in Finder or click the DataNow logo in the Finder taskbar and select Open DataNow Folder.

Uploads and downloads

When logged in to a Mac with the DataNow client running, save, paste or drag files and folders into your DataNow home folder or a shared map point. From there the files are automatically synchronized with the server and available from your other DataNow devices and the web client.

Depending on your organization's settings, you can also add, copy and move files to DataNow using the mobile and web clients. Whichever client is used, uploaded files are accessed from the DataNow folder on your Mac.

If you lose connection, logout or shutdown your endpoint whilst uploading or downloading files, synchronization will automatically continue on re-connection to the server. For uploads, when the upload has completed content is merged with existing content, automatically cleaning up unused data.

Depending on your folder settings, all your DataNow files are automatically downloaded, or they are individually downloaded as you open them.

Using DataNow's policy settings, an organization can restrict who has access to DataNow and what actions they can perform. For example, access can be restricted by platform, IP address and Organizational Unit (OU).

Administrators can also apply policy settings to prevent users uploading files, printing and copying data from mobile devices.

If you have any queries about your organization's policy settings, contact your IT Support department.

Transfer Status

Select the DataNow icon from the Status Bar Menu.

The progress of all current uploads and downloads is displayed.

Pause syncing

You can stop file uploads and downloads at any time by selecting Pause All from the DataNow Status Bar menu. When syncing is paused, the DataNow icon displays a pause icon. To resume server communication, select Resume All from the DataNow menu.

When syncing is paused, all communication with the server ceases meaning as well as file transfers, any server notifications are also paused. An alert is displayed

Full synchronization

You can set DataNow to perform a full synchronization when you log in. This is defined in the DataNow settings.

Synchronize files

Select DataNow from the contextual menu and select the required behavior:

  • Unsync - You download files to your computer as you access them. If you add a file through the web client, you will be able to see the file on your computer but it is only downloaded when opened. When you are not logged into DataNow, you can only view and access those files which have previously been downloaded.
  • Sync - When you are logged in to DataNow all files in your DataNow folder are automatically downloaded. If you add a file through the web client, it is automatically downloaded to your computer when you are logged in to DataNow. When you are not logged in to DataNow, all the files you downloaded before logging off are accessible.

You can override this by applying a different setting to individual sub-folders or files.

For example, you could apply the Sync setting to your home folder - all files and folders within your home folder automatically synchronize when you are logged in to DataNow. However, there might be files, you do not want to automatically synchronize - you may have very large files that you do not access very often. If you apply the Unsync setting to either the files or the folders they are contained in, any downloaded files are removed from your computer and only downloaded when you open them. All other files and folders in your home folder remain set to synchronize automatically.

If you lose connection, logout or shutdown your endpoint whilst uploading or downloading files, synchronization will automatically continue on re-connection to the server. For uploads, when the upload has completed content is merged with existing content, automatically cleaning up unused data.

Clear locally cached files

To remove downloaded files from your Mac, highlight the required file or folder and Unsync from the shortcut menu. Local copies of all files and sub-folders contained within, are removed from your Mac but remain on the server.

Share files

  1. Highlight the files you want to share and select DataNow > Share from the shortcut menu.
  2. Enter the email addresses of the users you want to share the files with.
  3. Enter a name for the share. This is optional but it helps you and any recipients identify shares in the Web Console. If you do not enter a name, the share is automatically name Shared Files. This could lead to confusion with multiple shares having the same name. Share names cannot include the % character.
  4. Click Share. The server sends an email to the specified address(es) containing a link to the current version of the file(s) at that time.
  5. Confirmation of the share is displayed containing the link. Click Okay.

Settings

DataNow Mac Preferences displays the DataNow version you are currently using and details of your device, server and logon name. You can also log into a different server or change the account with which you are logged in with.

  1. Select Preferences from the DataNow menu.
  2. Set the Start DataNow on system startup checkbox as required. When selected, you will automatically log in to DataNow when you start your Mac.
  3. Click the configure icon.
  4. Update the DataNow server address, User Logon and Password credentials
  5. Click Validate to commit the server and logon changes.

Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other