File Director powered by AppSense

Ivanti File Director is the new name for AppSense DataNow

Mac File Director tasks

You can perform native Mac file and folder actions on your File Director files and folder, such as copy, move, delete, and rename. You can also perform other tasks such as downloading files, remove downloads, resolving errors, and synchronizing files

In this section:

Uploads and downloads

When logged in to a Mac computer with the File Director client running, save, paste, or drag files and folders into your File Director home folder or a shared map point (shared volume). From there the files are automatically synchronized with the server and available from your other File Director devices and the web client.

You cannot upload files to a read-only map point.

If you lose connection, log out, or shut down your endpoint while uploading or downloading files, synchronization automatically continues on re-connection to the server. For uploads, the files on the server are overwritten, unless there is a conflict.

Depending on your folder settings, all your File Director files are automatically downloaded, or they are individually downloaded as you open them. In Mac, you double-click a file to download it. Alternatively, right-click and select Download in Finder.

File Director Policy

Using File Director's policy settings, an organization can restrict who has access to File Director and what actions they can perform. For example, access can be restricted by platform, IP address, and Organizational Unit (OU).

Administrators can also apply policy settings to prevent users uploading files, printing, and copying data from mobile devices.

If you have any queries about your organization's policy settings, contact your IT Support department.

Share files

If you want to use link-based sharing, use the Web client.

For more information, see Web Client File Director tasks.

Clear locally cached File Director files

To remove downloaded files from your Mac, right-click the files and select Remove Download.

You can also remove cached volumes when uninstalling the product using File Director Preferences.

For more information, see Mac File Director preferences.

Synchronize files

When the File Director client is running, files are continually synchronized between your Mac endpoint and the File Director server while the client is in contact with the server. You can control contact with the server using the Pause Connection and Resume Connection options on the File Director menu, accessible File Director status icon in the toolbar:

Action

Result

File Director Toolbar Status Icon

Resume Connection  selected

Files are synchronized with File Director server:

Files added to File Director folders start uploading .

Double-click available files and they start downloading .

Normal:

Busy:

Pause Connection selected

Synchronization is paused.

Double-click available files and their status becomes "download pending".

Paused:

Sync status

 

To view synchronization status:

  1. Click the File Director status icon in the toobar.
  2. Select Status.]

    The Status menu displays which file is currently and whether it is uploading or downloading. Click the filename to go to the file in Finder.

Synchronization status for each file is shown on the file itself in Finder - for example Download Pending or Available in iCloud. The progress of an upload or download is indicated by a progress bar on the file itself.

Refresh files

By default, File Director refreshes all File Director every hour to ensure your files are synchronized. When you access a folder in Finder, it is automatically refreshed if a refresh has not occurred in the last 60 seconds.

Related topics


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other