Personalization Operations powered by AppSense

Multi-User Operations

Administrators and Master Administrators can perform data operations for multiple users at a time. You can choose "quick" tasks - which are common data operations executed in a few clicks - or custom tasks, which can include manually editing specific settings. The tasks can be executed immediately or you can defer them. Multi-user operations are performed in the background and you can manage them in the task manager panel.

In this section:

Manage Multi-User Backups with Quick Tasks

Quick tasks for multiple users are available in both the Home page and the dialogs to manage current settings and backups. The quick tasks on the Home page apply to all users in all Personalization Groups for which you are an administrator. You can select the following tasks:

  • Delete all backups of a specific age.
  • Delete all backups except for some of the most recent.
  • Create new backups.

You can apply the tasks to all Windows Settings or all Application Groups at a time or both.

Delete All Backups of a Specific Age for Multiple Users

Use a quick task to delete all backups older than a specified age for all Windows Settings Groups or all Application Groups or both.

  1. On the Home page, click the arrow for the task, Delete all backups older than.
  2. In the options, select the Affected Groups in the drop-down.
  3. In the Delete older than drop-down, select the age (in days) above which backups qualify for deletion.
  4. To ensure qualifying protected backups are also deleted, select Include Protected.
  5. Click Next.

    The Multi-User Operation dialog displays a summary of the task.

  6. In the Options section, enter a user-friendly name for the task.
  7. Specify whether to Execute Immediately or to Defer the task.
  8. If you defer the task, select a deferral period in the drop-down.
  9. Click Finish.

    A success message displays.

Delete All Backups Except for Recent Ones for Multiple Users

Use a quick task to delete all backups except for some of the most recent for all Windows Settings Groups or all Application Groups or both.

  1. On the Home page, click the arrow for the task, Delete all backups except for the last.
  2. In the options, select the Affected Groups in the drop-down.
  3. In the Delete all expect the last drop-down, select how many of the most recent backups to preserve.
  4. To ensure protected backups are also deleted, select Include protected.
  5. Click Next.

    The Multi-User Operation dialog displays a summary of the task.

  6. In the Options section, enter a user-friendly name for the task.
  7. Specify whether to Execute Immediately or to Defer the task.
  8. If you defer the task, select a deferral period in the drop-down.
  9. Click Finish.

    A success message displays.

Create New Backups for All Groups for Multiple Users

Use a quick task to create new backups for all Windows Settings Groups or all Application Groups or both.

  1. On the Home page, click the arrow for the task, Create new backups except for all.
  2. In the options, select the Affected Groups in the drop-down.
  3. Enter a description for the new backup.
  4. To create a  protected backup are also deleted, select Protect Archive.
  5. Click Next.

    The Multi-User Operation dialog displays a summary of the task.

  6. In the Options section, enter a user-friendly name for the task.
  7. Specify whether to Execute Immediately or to Defer the task.
  8. If you defer the task, select a deferral period in the drop-down.
  9. Click Finish.

    A success message displays.

Personalization Data Operations for Multiple Users

Use the following buttons to perform multi-user operations:

Related topics


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other