About Business Object Lifecycles

Use Business Object lifecycles to manage workflows for business processes (example: Incident Management, HRSM).

When you define a lifecycle for a Business Object, you determine what statuses and stages an item passes through when a user works with it. For example, you could set up a lifecycle for the Change Request Business Object that has stages such as Assessment and Authorization, and statuses such as Draft, Risk Analysis, and Planning.

You can set up a lifecycle for any Major or Supporting Business Object and some Group Business Objects. Lifecycles comprise statuses and stages, jumps and transitions.

Only Administrators can see and change Business Object Lifecycles.

Example lifecycles include:

  • Incident Resolution (IT Services Management).
  • Change Request Resolution (IT Services Management).
  • Onboarding Process (Human Resources Services Management).

Business Objects and their associated lifecycles and form changes, are all managed within a Blueprint. To commit changes to your system, you must publish the Blueprint.