Setting Encrypt Medium Utility Options

The Encrypt Medium utility options that the user sees on the client are governed by the Device Control default options set by the administrator.

The Encrypt Medium utility requires an administrator to set the default options that govern the client behavior for the Encrypt Medium utility. These default options are shown when selecting the Tools > Default Options > Computer tab from the navigation bar in the Management Console. For more information about default options, see the Computer Tab section. Options which affect the behavior of the Encrypt Medium utility include:

  • Selecting an encryption access method that determines whether the device can be used outside of your network.
  • Adding Windows® or password users that can access the device.
  • Saving all existing data on the device during encryption.
  • Erasing data from unused sectors of the device during encryption.
  1. From the Management Console select Tools > Default Options > Computer tab.
  2. Set the default options described in the following table. See the Default Options page, Device Control for additional information about working with default options and the default settings for the options described in the following table.

The following table describes device encryption default options and the resulting behavior for the Encrypt Medium utility.

Default Option Setting Encrypt Medium Behavior
Encryption notification Create message in the Encryption Notification field. Prompts a user to encrypt a device attached to a computer running the client when launching the Encrypt Medium utility.
Encryption Grace Period Enter a time value in seconds in the Encryption Grace Period field. Allows a user a grace period to use a device encrypted without Easy Exchange to use the device after attaching and detaching the device from the client computer before the client uploads a log to the Application Server.
Encryption Retain Data

If no data is stored on the device before encryption, the Data Integrity page is not visible during encryption.

Selected The user can view the Data Integrity page and choose that data already stored on the device is saved during the encryption process. The check box in the Encrypt Medium dialog on the client is selected and can be deselected by the user.
Forced Unselected The check box in the Encrypt Medium dialog on the client is deselected. This option preset by the administrator and cannot be modified by the user.
Unselected The check box in the Encrypt Medium dialog on the client is deselected and can be selected by the user.
Forced Selected The check box in the Encrypt Medium dialog on the client is preselected. This option preset by the administrator and cannot be modified by the user.
Clear unused space when encrypting Enabled The user can view the Secure Unused Space page and choose that unused sectors on the device be wiped clean of data during the encryption process.
Microsoft CA Key Provider Enabled The user can view the User Access and Add Additional User pages to add a Windows user with password access.
Enabled (Decentralized)

Important: The option to add a passphrase user is always visible to the user from the Encrypt Medium utility.

You have configured the specific behavior of the Encrypt Medium utility. For additional information about using encryption scenarios, see the following topics.

Related Tasks: