When you complete your edits, click Publish to begin publishing the update. If you want to save your changes without publishing them, click Save, save your changes to a file, and then click Cancel. All detectable errors must be fixed before saving your changes. To resume editing, select the same update, restart the editor, click Open and then select your saved file.
Depending on the circumstances, you may be able to publish edited updates as either metadata-only or full-content, or you may be required to publish them as full-content. When you publish an update as metadata-only, a revision is created for the update and the detection logic for the update is provided, but the actual software update binaries are not included. When you publish an update as full-content, a new ID is applied to the update.
You can publish an edited update as either metadata-only or full-content if:
•You make only metadata edits to an update that has not been previously published
All but the last tab (the Custom Install Script tab) on the update editor affect only the metadata.
•You make only metadata edits to an update that is published as metadata-only
You must publish an edited update as full-content if:
•You add or edit a custom install script
If you made changes on the Custom Install Script tab, then the update package has been modified and it will need to be republished as full-content.
•You edit an update that has been published as full-content
In the very rare case where you do want to publish an update as metadata-only when the update has already been published with full content, you need to edit the original catalog update and publish that as metadata-only. Note that in this situation, Configuration Manager may have a problem properly synchronizing the update.
When you publish an update from the update editor, your changes are reviewed and checked for errors. You will not be able to publish the update if any errors are found. If an error does occur, you will be notified and will have the opportunity to correct the error. If no errors are detected, the Publish selected updates dialog is displayed and you will follow the normal publishing process.
If you use the update editor to publish an update that has not been modified, then no changes are made and the normal publishing process is performed.