Patch for SCCM
Shared Settings Tab
A video tutorial is available on this topic. To access the video, click the following link:
There are two different configuration setting levels that may be used within Patch for SCCM.
•User settings: By default, all program settings are uniquely configured for each user on each console machine. This means the choices you make are unique to you. If there are multiple users, each user will specify their own unique settings on each machine.
•Shared settings: You can choose to share a number of settings with other users of the product. Settings that are shared will apply regardless of where or who you are when you access the console. This simplifies the setup process for other users and for yourself if you move between consoles.
Enabling Shared Settings
If you want to share settings, enable the Use shared settings check box.
You will receive one or two prompts after enabling the check box.
•The first prompt will inform you of the areas within the program that will be affected.
•If you have any scheduled tasks, a second prompt will ask for your credentials. The credentials are necessary in order to reschedule the tasks in the new shared environment.
Every user who chooses to use the Shared Settings feature must be an authorized Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) user and must have Full Write permission to the ROOT\SMS\<site> namespace and all sub-namespaces of the primary SCCM site. See the System Requirements for more details.
The following table shows where the different setting levels are used and how certain areas of the program are affected:
If you do NOT use shared settings
All settings on all tabs are treated as user settings. In addition, the custom Smart Filters and the composite filters that you create will be available only to you. Other users will not be able to see or use those filters.
If you use shared settings
Be extremely careful when changing any shared setting, as it will affect all other Patch for SCCM administrators who are also using shared settings.
The following applies if you choose to use shared settings:
•Settings in the following areas will be shared with other users of the product who are also using shared settings:
•WSUS Server tab: The server name, port and timestamp settings will be shared.
•License tab: Each console will have to go through the activation process once, but after that the activation key will be shared by other users on the same console.
•Offline Options tab: The local source folder location and the choice to run disconnected will be shared.
•Settings in the following areas will continue to be treated as user settings:
•Scheduled tasks can be viewed and edited from any console. See How the Shared Settings Feature Affects Your Scheduled Task(s) for more details.
•The email addresses you specify when managing alert subscriptions will be available to other users on all other console machines who are also using shared settings.
Scheduled tasks will be shared by all users who have elected to share settings. Users with shared settings will be able to take ownership of the shared scheduled tasks and make modifications. Each task will run on the console on which it was created or last modified.
Any users who have elected not to share settings will not have access to the shared scheduled tasks created on other consoles. Those users must create their own scheduled tasks, and those tasks will not be available to other users.
For example, assume your site contains two console machines and three users. Two of the users elect to share settings and one does not. The two who have opted to share settings will have access to the same shared scheduled tasks on all console machines at your site. The user who has opted not to share settings will have access to all tasks created on their console machine but not to the shared scheduled tasks created on different consoles.
•If a user has their own unique scheduled task in place when they enable the Use shared settings check box, that task will become a shared task.
•If a user has not opted in to shared settings, that person will be able to see all tasks created on their console machine but not tasks created on other console machines.
•If a shared user who has scheduled tasks on one or more remote consoles chooses to opt out of shared settings, the tasks on the remote machines will be deleted the next time they are run.
Was this article useful?
Copyright © 2019, Ivanti. All rights reserved.