List View v2 Saved Views Update

Saved views feature combines the ability to save filters with other page settings like column order and KPI configurations. This feature allows you to create multiple views of organizational data. Within the same view, you can simultaneously filter and prioritize results, configure KPIs to match timelines, and show only relevant columns. Then you can share your views to communicate the status of an initiative across your organization.

This feature fully replaces saved filters. All saved filters will now be shown as saved views.

Saved views also adds new list view settings. With this update, you can saved pinned columns and create views that hide the KPI bar or left filter pane.

This document provides a brief introduction to saved views. For complete documentation, start with the article Saved Views: Overview.

Feature Highlights

This section describes some of the key changes to the platform.

  • Views encompass most list view settings, including
  • Applied Group By
  • Applied filters
  • Pinned Columns
  • KPIs configurations
  • Column order, sort, and width
  • Rows per page
  • Position of the left filter pane (open or collapsed)
  • Position of KPI bar (open or collapsed)

    Your default view defines your default list view settings. You will manage your default view from the User and System view sections on the left filter pane.
  • Rather than going to the top filter bar to create a saved view, you will now select VIEW from the CREATE drop down.

  • You can share a view when you create it, update it, or select “Share” from the view card options menu.
  • As with saved filters, you can filter saved views by whether they are private, shared by you, or shared by others.
  • System filters have been converted to System views. Users can make a System view the default for a page. If you set a System view as your default, your default view will automatically track any changes to the System view filters. Some users may find this useful if they want to follow frequently updated filters like “CISA Known Exploited”.

  • Save custom settings for a Group By. This feature allows you to save your preferred columns and sort for a Group By.
  • Users can change whether clicking the view card applies only the filters or the entire view. To change the default view card click behavior, go to the List View Configurations on the User Settings page.

  • Users with the correct privileges can define list view settings for new users. All new users start with the Client Defaults as the default view for a page. Users with the ability to edit client settings can update the Client Defaults. Organizations can take advantage of this feature when on-boarding new users and tailoring list views to support organizational priorities and processes.
  • Client Defaults appears in the User views section.

  • You can also preview the Client Defaults for each list view by going to the Client Settings page. The preview offers you the option to apply the Client Defaults and review the settings from the page directly.
  • View - Client Defaults Preview
  • Reset a list view to system default settings by applying the System Defaults view. The System Defaults for a view lives within the User views section.

Limitations

Users interacting with views will notice two key limitations:

  • A default view cannot contain a Group By.
  • Users cannot set a shared User view as a default view at this time. (This restriction does not include Client Defaults or System Defaults.)
  • If a user makes their private view their default and then shares that view, the system will remove the view as the default.

Additional Changes

  • The top filter bar no longer has the option to save a filter.
  • Deep links encode all list view settings. If you create a deep link on a list view, it stores all same settings as a view.
  • Users will no longer see a Settings cog on the upper right of the v2 list views. This location now only shows an icon for deep links.
  • Some views will be excluded as Playbook filter templates. When you create a playbook rule, you will copy only filters from a view. The rule creation wizard will exclude any views without filters from the list of views to select as a filter template.
  • View cards take up less space. The view card now shows up to two lines for the view title. To view the description for the view, hover over the card with your mouse.
  • The IAM privileges Filter Modify and Filter Control have been renamed to View Modify and View Control.

Future Feature Updates

  • Users will be able to set a shared view without a Group By as the default view.
  • Users will be able to filter on views with or without a Group By.
  • The User Settings for the view card click action will be a global setting rather a client-level setting.