Management and Security

Understanding rights and states

There are four types of rights a user can have:

  • View: Allows users to access a console tool.
  • Edit: Allows users to make changes in the associated console tool. Includes the view right.
  • Deploy: Allows users to create, modify, or delete any scheduled tasks associated with the associated console tool.
  • Edit public: Allows users to create, modify, or delete items in a console tool's Public folder.

Not all rights support all types. For example, the "Public query management" right can only have the "Edit public" type. It wouldn't make sense to also have the "View," "Edit," or "Deploy" types.

There are three states a right can have:

  • A checkmark:
  • An X:
  • A not applicable symbol:

Clicking on a checkmark or an X will toggle its state.

If users have no rights for a tool, they won't see the tool when they log into the console. The tool won't appear in the Toolbox or in the Tools menu.

The Scheduled tasks tool is only visible to users who have a "Deploy" right, and in that case, they can only work with tasks associated with the tool they have deploy rights for. All other tasks are read-only.

Was this article useful?    

The topic was:



Not what I expected