Using a Change or Task to commit CIs

After you have added CIs to a Change or Task, then you can commit the CIs, so that the future version becomes the current version.

Alternatively, you can click Commit All Configuration Items to commit all the CIs that are listed on the Change Tree or Task Tree.

The Commit All Configuration Items action assumes that you want the future versions of all the listed CIs to become the current versions. All the modifications you made when you added the CIs to the Change or Task are put into effect. You are not asked to confirm the Action, nor can you undo this Action.

The relevant actions must exist on the Change or Task window. The Change or Task process must contain either, or both, the Commit Configuration Item and Commit All Configuration Items actions. For information about using processes, see the Web Desk User Guide. For information about designing processes, see the Designer Guide.

To commit a CI using a Change or Task:
  1. Open the relevant Change or Task, then on the Actions list, click Commit Configuration Item to commit a version to a selection of the listed CIs.
    The Confirm Configuration Items dialog appears.
  2. In the Unconfirmed CIs list, double-click the CIs to which you want to commit the Change or Task.
    The CIs appear in the Confirmed CIs list.

You can add or remove selected CIs from the Confirmed CIs list by clicking or respectively.

  1. Click Confirm.
    Different windows appear for automatic and managed versions of the CIs.

If a confirmed CI is automatic or has no version, then the CI window appears, enabling you to modify the current CI. You cannot create future (final) versions for automatic CIs, as the progression to a future version is automatic.

To confirm an automatic or non versioned CI:
  1. Click...
    No Change – to maintain the current version of an automatic CI, without creating a new version as the current version.
    OK – to set what appears on the window as the current version, which you may have modified. The original current version becomes the previous version.
    Cancel – to return to the Confirm Configuration Items window. You must remove the CI from the Confirmed CIs list if you do not want to commit it.
    The CIs appear listed in the Change Tree or Task Tree.
  2. Double-click a CI to view its Versions.

If a confirmed CI is managed, then the CI window appears, enabling you to modify the Final Version if required.

To confirm a managed version CI:
  1. Click...
    OK – to set the Final Version as the current version. The original current version becomes the previous version.
    Cancel – to return to the Confirm Configuration Items window. You must remove the CI from the Confirmed CIs list if you do not want to commit it.
    The CIs appear listed in the Change Tree or Task Tree.
  2. Double-click a CI to view its Versions.
    The original final (future) version is now the current version. The original current version is now a previous version.