Workspaces powered by Landesk

User Management in Workspaces

Analysts with the Administrators role, who can therefore access the Administration section of the Workspaces navigation bar, can access a Manage Users shortcut that provides basic management of users, roles, and groups.

This is different from the privilege required for the Administration component that provides user management in Console. For more information about users, groups, roles, and privileges, see the System Administration section of the Service Desk and Asset Manager help center.

The Manage Users page in Workspaces enables you to:

  • create, edit, and delete users
  • create, edit, and delete roles
  • create, edit, and delete groups
  • assign users to groups and roles
To create a user, role, or group:
  1. In the Administration section of the Workspaces navigation bar, click Manage Users.
    The Manage Users page appears.
  2. Click the Users, Roles, or Groups tab as required, then click Add....
    A menu appears enabling you to select the type of user, group, or role you want to create.
  3. Select the required option, then click Add.
    The appropriate window appears.
  4. Complete the window, then click Save.
    The record is created and the window closes.

You can edit a record by selecting it, then clicking Edit ... Details on the window that appears. You can delete a record by selecting it, then clicking Delete ....

If you have configured single sign-on for your system, you need to associate a network login to each user (for more information, see the Setup section of the Service Desk and Asset Manager help center). You can add a network login to an existing user in Workspaces by expanding the Network Logins section on the User window, then clicking Add Network Login.

Assigning roles and groups to a user

You can assign roles and groups to a user from the Roles and Groups tabs on the User window by clicking Assign Role or Assign Group and clicking the required item in the list that appears. Similarly, you can remove roles and groups from a user by selecting the role or group that is not required and clicking Remove Role or Remove Group.

Alternatively, you can assign users to roles or groups (or remove them) using the Role or Group window by clicking Assign User or Remove User.


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other