Xtraction powered by Landesk

Managing folders

You can use folders within Xtraction to store content in an alphabetically ordered list.

To make changes to the folder structure, you must have the rights of enterprise designer or designer; private designers don't have these rights.

To manage the folder structure

1.Open any designer tool, for example Dashboard Designer.

2.In the top menu bar, click Tools > Folders to open the Folder dialog.

3.In the navigation pane, right-click to add, edit, move, or delete a folder. Note that deleting a folder also removes any subfolders.

To manage folder content

1.Open any designer tool, for example Dashboard Designer.

2.In the top menu bar, click Tools > Folders to open the Folder dialog.

3.Double-click a folder to view its content in list format.

4.Right-click an item to add to your favorites, or to open, export, or delete it. Exporting the item exports without first loading it in the details pane. Deleting an item permanently deletes it. Use the Ctrl key to select multiple items or Ctrl + Shift keys to select sets of items.

5.You can move items by dragging them to another folder.

To manage folder security

Folder permissions define user and group access to dashboards, documents, and filters.

1.Open any designer tool, for example Dashboard Designer.

2.In the top menu bar, click Tools > Folders.

3.Right-click a folder and select Edit Folder to open the Folder dialog.

4.Options available under Permissions depend on the user privileges:

    Most users may only select Public to release their own folders to the public.

    At the administration level, a decision is made between public and restricted access.

5.Select Public (accessible to everyone) to make the folder freely accessible. Note that it's not possible to make a sub-folder of a restricted folder totally public. The sub-folder will only be available to the same users who have access to the parent folder.

6.To restrict folder access to certain groups and/or users, add them here. Right-click in the Permissions area to add a group, add a user, or clear permissions. Enterprise designers can give permissions to any groups or users. Designers can give permissions to any groups that they can currently access, or to users within those groups.


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other