Retiring Shared iPad devices
Wipe the device prior to retiring the device. Once you retire a device, the MDM profile is removed and the Admin cannot make remote MDM commands or changes. This leaves the Shared iPad without MDM and the device user cannot erase or reset the device since it's Shared iPad. If this happens, The only way to erase or reset the Shared iPad device once is to connect to Apple Configurator and select the Allow Erase All Content and Settings (supervised devices only) option.