Enabling form-based auto-fill features (Android)

Administrators can configure whether or not [email protected] saves data and/or passwords that users enter on form-based web pages. By default, saving form data and passwords is enabled.

New menu items in the [email protected] Privacy menu enable users to clear saved form data or saved passwords. The administrator can also configure a time limit for saving passwords.

Use the keys allow_form_autofill, allow_password_autofill, and password_autofill_expire to configure form-based autofill features.

For iOS, you can also use the key allow_passwords_autofill.

Allowing [email protected] to save data and passwords provides a better user experience when users must enter lengthy authentication credentials, or repetitive form data. You can optionally set a time limit for storing passwords. Credentials can be stored temporarily, for example, during a web session when the user may need to enter their credential several times. The passwords are cleared when the time limit expires.

The user also may clear saved form data and saved password data from the Privacy menu in [email protected] The user also has the option to choose never to save auto-fill data for any given web page.

When form-based auto-fill feature is enabled with the allow_form_autofill key:

Data on the form is saved after the user submits the data.

The next time the browser encounters the same form fields, the field is automatically filled with the saved data.

The user can clear the data by tapping the [email protected] menu, selecting Privacy > Clear autofill data, and tapping Clear Selected.

If the form-based auto-fill feature is not enabled, form data is not saved. User sees blank form fields even if the form was previously submitted.

When password auto-fill is enabled with the allow_password_autofill key:

When a user enters their credentials on a form-based authentication page, the user is prompted if they want to save their credentials.

The user can choose Yes to save the credentials, or Never to never save the credentials for the given site.

If credentials are saved, the authentication form is auto-populated the next time the user views the authentication page. The users is prompted to save the credentials each time the form is submitted, unless the Never option was previously selected.

If the credentials are not yet saved, or have been cleared, or if the password auto-fill feature is not enabled, the authentication form will be blank.

When the password auto-fill time limit feature is enabled with the password_autofill_expire key:

The authentication form is auto-populated when a user revisits the form before the time limit expires.

Password data is automatically deleted after the time limit expires. The next time the user revisits the authentication form, the fields will be blank.

If the password auto-fill time limit is not set, the saved password remains indefinitely unless it is cleared by the user.

Configuring data and password auto-fill features

To configure the [email protected] form auto-fill features, follow these steps to set the key-value pair described below.

1. Sign in to the Core Admin Portal.
2. Go to Policies & Configs > Configurations.
3. Select the [email protected] setting that applies to the devices of interest.
4. Click Edit.
5. Under Custom Configurations, click Add.
6. Add the following keys and values:

 

Key

Value Description

allow_form_autofill

"false"/"no" -- saving form data is disabled

"true"/"yes" -- DEFAULT - saving form data is enabled

allow_password_autofill

"false"/"no" -- saving password is disabled

"true"/"yes" -- DEFAULT - saving password is enabled

password_autofill_expire

“nh” -- where n is a number representing # hours to store the password. Example: “8h”

If key is not present (default), password data does not expire.

7. Click Save.
8. Apply this [email protected] configuration to labels that identify the devices that should receive this configuration.

Clearing saved form data and passwords

Users can clear saved form data and/or saved passwords from [email protected] On the device:

1. Tap the menu in [email protected]
2. Tap Privacy.
3. Select one or more checkboxes to clear the appropriate data: Clear Passwords, or Clear Autofill Data.
4. Tap Clear Selected.

The selected data types are cleared from [email protected]