- Disconnect all network drives before logging on/off cleans the user's profile from user-connected and disabled drives.
- Skip unmanaged drives - Only network drives that are managed by Workspace Control will be disconnected, all other drives will not be touched. With an unmanaged drive, a drive is meant that has no managed equivalent in Workspace Control. If both a managed and an unmanaged version of a drive exist, the unmanaged version will be replaced by a managed version after logging off/on.
- Refresh Drive and Port Mappings when network connectivity changes allows you to refresh Drive Mappings automatically when the network connectivity of a session changes. This ensures that connection state-dependent Drive Mappings become available or disappear correctly.
- Drive and port mappings will not be refreshed if the Lockdown and Behavior option Do not refresh Workspace when network connectivity changes is selected (at Composition > Desktop > Lockdown and Behavior).
- Also connect all network drives using VDX plugin. Drive mappings that are configured for the remote desktop can be set as local drive mappings too. This setting enables the user to access the same drives from local desktop and from virtual desktop using the VDX plugin.
- You can override the global settings of this feature for specific Workspace Control Containers.
Edit mapping dialog box
- Optionally enter a note in the Administrative note field. This is useful to differentiate the mappings that you configured.
- Map drive: Default; perform drive mapping
- Disconnect drive mapping: Disconnects an existing (non-Workspace Control) mapping.
- Do not perform mapping operation: Does not perform the actual mapping, but it does set other options, such as setting a friendly name. This setting is also useful when configuring hide drive behavior for existing local drives.
- Set RES HyperDrive: No longer available for new mappings.
- The Device field specifies which drive letter should be used for the mapping.
- If you select Do not use a drive letter, Workspace Control will not expose the drive letter when a mapped network resource should be available for the user.
- If you select Find first free drive letter, Workspace Control will find the first available drive letter when mapping a network drive, starting down from "Z:".
- The Hide drive field specifies the hide drives behavior of the mapping. Hidden drives are not available to end users and are also blocked in Windows Explorer-type dialogs.
- If you select Default, the default hide drives behavior for Drive and Port Mappings will be applied.
- If you select Always hide, but allow access, the drive will be hidden without blocking it. This can be useful for removable media that cause a delay in application startup or File Open/Save dialog boxes.
- Fast connect allows users to start their sessions faster.
Do not select this option if the drive contains applications: until the user accesses the drive, the drive will not be available, which means that any application on the drive will not be available either.
- Wait for task to finish before continuing becomes unavailable when selecting the option Fast connect, because the actual mapping will first be performed when the user connects to the drive.
When clearing the option Wait for task to finish before continuing the option Fast connect becomes unavailable, because the task will be performed asynchronously.
- The Required connection state field specifies the required connection state that allows the setting to be applied. For example, this allows you to configure a setting that will only be applied if a computer has an online connection state.
Access Control tab
Use these settings to configure the Access Control criteria of the mapping.
Workspace Control tab
Use these settings to configure to which Workspace Container(s) the mapping applies.
- You can use environment variables (for example, %username%).
- For additional security, Drive and Port mappings can also direct the drive mapping to a resource, without the user knowing the username or password.
- Drive and Port Mappings also allow mappings to WebDAV web folders, which start with http:// or https:// instead of \\server\share.
- Use the Workspace Analysis window (in Diagnostics) to display an overview of all mappings and their hide drive settings for a specific user.
- When different friendly names are configured for drive letters that are mapped to the same share, the last configured friendly name will be used for all these drive mappings.