Patch for SCCM

Shared Settings Tab

Show Me!

A video tutorial is available on this topic. To access the video, click the following link:

Watch a related video (6:03)

Overview

There are two different configuration setting levels that may be used within Patch for SCCM.

User settings: By default, all program settings are uniquely configured for each user on each console machine. This means the choices you make are unique to you. If there are multiple users, each user will specify their own unique settings on each machine.

Shared settings: You can choose to share a number of settings with other users of the product. Settings that are shared will apply regardless of where or who you are when you access the console. This simplifies the setup process for other users and for yourself if you move between consoles.

In addition, when you enable sharing, any custom Smart Filters or composite filters that you create may be made available to other users who are also using shared settings.

If you want to share settings, enable the Use shared settings check box.

Every user who chooses to use the Shared Settings feature must be an authorized Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) user and must have Full Write permission to the ROOT\SMS\<site> namespace and all sub-namespaces of the primary SCCM site. See the System Requirements for more details.

The following table shows where the different setting levels are used and how certain areas of the program are affected:

If you do NOT use shared settings

All settings on all tabs are treated as user settings. In addition, the custom Smart Filters and the composite filters that you create will be available only to you. Other users will not be able to see or use those filters.

If you use shared settings

Be extremely careful when changing any shared setting, as it will affect all other Patch for SCCM administrators who are also using shared settings.

The following applies if you choose to use shared settings:

Settings in the following areas will be shared with other users of the product who are also using shared settings:

WSUS Server tab: The server name, port and timestamp settings will be shared.

License tab: The license activation key will be shared.

Offline Options tab: The local source folder location and the choice to run disconnected will be shared.

Schedule tab A single scheduled task can be viewed and edited from any console. See How the Shared Settings Feature Affects Your Scheduled Task(s) for more details.

Settings in the following areas will continue to be treated as user settings:

Proxy tab

Languages tab

Catalogs tab

Any custom Smart Filters or composite filters that you create may be made available to other users who are also using shared settings.

The email addresses you specify when managing alert subscriptions will be available to other users on all other console machines who are also using shared settings.

 

How the Shared Settings Feature Affects Your Scheduled Task(s)

If you do not use shared settings

Each user can create one unique scheduled task on each console machine. For example, if there are two console machines and three users, a total of six unique scheduled tasks are possible (three on each machine).

If you use shared settings

A single scheduled task will be shared by each user who has elected to share settings. Any user with shared settings will be able to take ownership of the shared scheduled task and make modifications. The task will run on the console on which it was created or last modified.

Any users who have elected not to share settings will not have access to the shared scheduled task. Those users must create their own scheduled task, and they will be able to create one unique scheduled task on each console machine.

For example, assume your site contains two console machines and three users. Two of the users elect to share settings and one does not. The two who have opted to share settings will have access to the same shared scheduled task on all console machines at your site. The user who has opted not to share settings will not have access to the shared scheduled task, but that user will be able to create two unique scheduled tasks of their own (one on each machine).

If a user has their own unique scheduled task in place when they enable the Use shared settings check box, that task will be deleted. It will be replaced by your site's shared scheduled task. If a shared scheduled task does not exist, the user can go to the Schedule tab to create the shared scheduled task.


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other