Avalanche powered by Wavelink

Home 

Understanding the Web Console

The top portion of the Web Console contains an alerts overview and a search box. It also displays the current user and provides links for logging out and help.

The alerts overview shows the number of critical, error, and warning alerts current in the user’s home folder. If there are any messages from the system administrator, system messages also appear with the alerts overview.

The search box allows you to search for content in the Console, such as a specific folder or profile.

Management Tabs

On the left side of the Console, use the management tabs to access inventories, profiles, reports, and other properties of your company. When you click Tools, the Tools menu provides you with access to the alerts, audit logs, maps, scheduled tasks, and system settings, users, and the Central FileStore. To minimize the management tabs, click the arrow at the top right corner of the tabs area.

Management tabs and Tools menu

For more information about each of the management tabs, see Management Tabs.

Folders

When you are on the Inventory or Profiles tab, the left of the Console displays the navigation tree, which allows you to organize and navigate to folders in your organization.

To minimize the folders, click the arrow at the top right corner of the folders area. For more information about using the navigation tree, see Managing Locations.

Panels

The main area of the Console generally consists of panels that display information about your company. The panels display information related to the tab and folder that are currently selected. For information about using and modifying the panels displayed, see Panels.

Edit Mode

When you edit a profile, payload, device group, or folder properties, you enter Edit Mode. While you are using Edit Mode, the item you are editing is locked. While an item is locked, no other user is able to edit the configuration. Edit Lock has an automatic timeout, at which point you are prompted in order to continue editing. If you do not respond to the prompt within the time configured, then you cannot save your changes and the item becomes open for other users to edit.

You can configure the timeout and the length of time after the prompt appears before the user’s lock is terminated. The timeout for Edit Lock has a default setting of 15 minutes, and the prompt timeout has a default setting of 1 minute. For instructions on configuring these timeouts, see Configuring General System Settings.


Was this article useful?    

The topic was:

Inaccurate

Incomplete

Not what I expected

Other