Management and Security powered by Landesk

Agent settings: Reboot settings

Tools > Configuration > Agent Settings > Reboot settings

Administrators now have better control over the reboot experience. With the Reboot settings, administrators can create reboot policies that are consistent across scheduled tasks. These settings will override the default agent settings on the client.

NOTE: The global settings in the Agent configuration dialog box override any reboot settings that you specify in the Reboot settings dialog box. The global setting Never reboot is selected by default on new Windows agent configurations. To change this setting, click Tools > Configuration > Agent configuration > Standard Ivanti agentthen clear the Never reboot box.

NOTE: Reboot settings do not apply to the reboot task that you start from the device list. If you right-click a machine in the device list and click Reboot, that task immediately attempts to reboot the device, overriding all reboot settings and global settings in the Agent configuration dialog box.

About the General page

Use the General page to specify when to initiate the reboot process. Once you select options on the other pages of the dialog box, the General page displays a summary of the settings.

The General page contains the following options:

  • Name: Enter a unique identifier for the reboot settings that you specify on all of the pages of the dialog.
  • When deciding whether a reboot is needed
    • Act as if reboot is ALWAYS needed: Forces a reboot even if neither the Windows OS nor the Ivanti agent indicate the need for one. For example, if there is a virus or malware, you may want to install a patch and force a reboot for security reasons.
    • Detect whether reboot is needed: Checks with both the Windows OS and the Ivanti agent and initiates a reboot if either one recommends it. For example, once you install agents on devices, they may need a reboot to complete the agent configuration.
    • Act as if reboot is NEVER needed: Disables all other reboot settings so that Ivanti tasks will not reboot the machine, even if the Windows OS or Ivanti agent recommends a reboot.
    • Suppress Windows Update reboot notifications: Prevents the Windows Update service from displaying reboot notifications in the task tray. The end user will not see any reboot messages from Windows Update.

About the Prompt page

Use the Prompt page to customize the reboot dialog that will display on the end user's machine.

NOTE: The prompt will only appear if the user is logged in and the machine is not locked. Otherwise, the machine may reboot without displaying the prompt.

The Prompt page contains the following options:

  • Prompt user before rebooting: Click to enter a custom message the user will see in a reboot prompt before the reboot occurs.
    • Use default message: Click to discard a custom message you entered and restore the default message.
    • Allow users to defer (snooze) for: Specify the time period during which the user will be able to postpone the reboot. The user will be able to choose how many times to defer and how long to wait within this time period. When the prompt appears, the user must reboot or defer.
    • Show system tray icon when a reboot is required: Displays the icon in the system tray, which allows the user to access the reboot prompt. For example, if a user chooses to defer the reboot for four hours but then has time to do it an hour later, the icon in the system tray allows them to reboot sooner than they previously specified.
    • Customize window caption: Click to enter the text that will appear in the title bar of the reboot prompt.
    • Preview...: Click to see the prompt that the user will see. Use this option to check the branding options you have selected.
    • Go to "Branding": Click to open the Branding dialog box, where you can select custom icon and banner images.

About the Automatic reboot page

Use the Automatic reboot page to specify the circumstances for a forced reboot.

The Automatic reboot page contains the following options:

  • Automatically reboot if any of these options are selected: The reboot will occur if the machine meets any of the selected options, whichever happens first.
    • Logged out for: The machine will reboot if the user has been logged out for the specified amount of time.
    • Locked or logged out for: The machine will reboot if the machine has been locked or logged out for the specified amount of time. Use this option if you want to reboot while the machine is locked, such as during a lunch break or while the user is away in a meeting.
    • No response to reboot prompt for: The machine will reboot if the user does not defer or reboot for the specified amount of time.
    • Reboot deadline exceeds: The machine will reboot if the user does not reboot before that time. For example, if you have an important security update that must occur in the next three days, set the deadline to 3 days. The reboot deadline must be equal to or greater than the Allow users to defer for time on the Prompt page.
    • Limit automatic reboot in the specified time window: The machine will only reboot if it is in that window, even if the reboot deadline has occurred. Specify the maintenance window by setting a weekly schedule. For example you could set it to reboot on the weekend if you had a point-of-sale machine that cannot reboot during business hours.

About the Do not disturb page

Use the Do not disturb page to override the settings on the other pages of the Reboot dialog.

The Do not disturb page contains the following options:

  • Do not reboot or prompt to reboot if specified processes are running: Specify mission-critical processes so that a reboot will not occur if those processes are running.
    • Add...: Opens the Specify process filter dialog box, where you can enter the name of the process and specify whether to apply the filter any time the process is running or only when the process is running full screen. For example, to ensure that a machine does not reboot during a presentation, you could apply the filter so that a reboot could occur with PowerPoint open but not if PowerPoint was running full screen.
    • Edit...: Opens the Specify process filter dialog box, where you can change the filter for a process that is already in the list.
    • Delete...: Removes a process from the list.
    • Import...: Opens the Import dialog box, where you can select processes from the Do not disturb lists in other settings, such as Distribution and patch.