General

Hot Tracking – Select True if you want to show an underline when your mouse hovers over leaf nodes on trees.

License Session Timeout – The duration in minutes that a user session can remain inactive before being removed by the Background Service. The default is 20.

Inactive user sessions are also removed by IIS if the IIS user session timeout is exceeded. Therefore, set the value for the IIS user session timeout to match the user session timeout that you set in the License Session Timeout value.

When a user closes the Console or logs out of Web Access, their user session is cleared. However, if Service Desk or Asset Manager closes unexpectedly, or if a user closes the main Web Access browser window without first logging out, the user session is not cleared and it has to be cleared by the Background Service.

When the Background Service removes users sessions, it also clears any record locks and concurrent licenses that are associated with the removed user session at the same time. The benefits of this are:

Longer session timeouts mean that user sessions can remain for long periods of activity. Shorter session timeouts release unused concurrent licenses more promptly and unlock processes that are locked but have no user session more promptly.

If you have a fixed license and your session times out owing to a period of inactivity, it will be restored automatically when you start using console again. If you have a concurrent license and your session is left inactive, a message appears informing you that your session is about to time out. Clicking Continue resets the session timeout. If a concurrent analyst's session times out, their license is cleared and made available for other concurrent analysts. A dialog appears that enables the analyst to choose between closing the console, or reconnecting. Clicking Reconnect restores the concurrent analyst's session if a concurrent license is still available.

If the concurrent analyst had a process open when their session timed out, the Background Service may have removed the lock and the record may have been updated by a different analyst. If this happens, the analyst is informed and the process is displayed as they last left it, but in a read-only format. In this way, the analyst can copy any changes they have made before redisplaying the updated process window.

Display Buttons on Windows? – Enable this option to display buttons on your windows. For example OK and Cancel.

SystemPath for Browser Control – The default system path to the location where you store the files that you want to display in browser controls added to window designs.

For example, if you have a file called user.jpg in a subfolder on your Service Desk Framework folder called CommonImages, set the SystemPath for Browser Control property to http://servername/servicedesk.Framework/CommonImages and in the Url box for the window, type ${SystemPath}/user.jpg.

Default Browse Folder – The default location for File Browse dialogs.

Use Version 7.2.3 Gradient fill for Count Panel – If you want the style of the color fill of Count Panels on dashboards to be retained from Version 7.2.3, select True.

Category Separator – The character used to separate category values. The default is a dash (-). We recommend that you don’t change this.

Remove plus sign from last Category – Select True if you do not want the plus sign on the bottom level Categories. This does slow down the performance of the Category list, so we strongly recommend that you set this value to False.

New page component – This enables you to specify which process is launched when you press Ctrl+N. For information about configuring this, see CTRL+N.

Launch Windows Maximized – This enables you to specify whether a process window automatically opens in a maximized state. The default option is set to True.

My Home Page – Use this option to choose your own home page. This is the page that appears when you start Console.

Launch Windows Centrally – This specifies whether all windows are opened centrally on your screen.