Privileges

Privileges define the parts of Service Desk or Asset Manager that a group or role can access, and which business objects and functions are available to the particular group or role. Users gain privileges when they are added to a group or are given a role.

When you assign privileges to a group or role, you can:

You can configure your system so that different groups have access to a different range of commands. Besides group privileges, you may want to assign various users different roles that enable them to perform additional functions in relation to their responsibilities.

When a user belongs to groups or roles that have different sets of privileges, then the user will have the sum of all the available privileges.

For example, if the Incidents group enables users to log and resolve incidents, but not to close them, and the Supervisor role enables users to close incidents, then a user who is assigned to the Incidents group and given a Supervisor role can log, resolve and close incidents.

If you create attributes that contain sensitive information, for example, Payroll information, you can prevent assign privileges to those attributes. You define whether an attribute is privileged using the Object Designer component. You refine them using the Administration component. You do this in the same way as setting standard privileges.