User roles

The Xtraction web client enables all users to view previously saved dashboards, documents, and filters. If assigned one of the designer roles, a user can also create and edit those objects using Xtraction's designer tools. A designer role is often assigned in combination with the Scheduler and/or Alert user roles. Note that a user can be assigned only one type of designer role at a time.

For details about setting up users and assigning their roles, see User accounts.

User roles defined

Listed below is each user role, the tasks each can perform, and the folders those roles have access to.

Administrators:

Perform all of the same tasks as an enterprise designer.

Manage user accounts, roles, groups, and data policies, and allocate permissions to all users. Users must make a request to the administrator if different permissions are sought.

Create dashboard and threshold alerts.

Can view all alerts.

Accessible folders: My folders, shared folders, and user folders. Allowed folder actions: Open, save, move, and explore.

Any of the designer roles can have rights to use the Dashboard, Document, and Report Designer tools. The designer roles are listed here in order of precedence:

Enterprise designers:

View, create, and edit private and shared (public) objects, including dashboards, dashboard folders, filters, and filter folders.

View and edit all private objects owned by others.

Schedule the export of dashboards, documents, and reports.

Set permissions to make an object public; set object permissions for all groups and all users.

Update object owners.

Accessible folders: My folders, shared folders, and user folders. Allowed folder actions: Open, save, move, and explore.

Designers:

View, create, and edit private and shared (public) objects, including dashboards, dashboard folders, filters, and filter folders. Permissions are limited to those objects in previously shared folders to which the designer has access.

Set permissions to make an object public; set object permissions for the designer's groups and for users in those groups.

Accessible folders: My folders and shared folders. Allowed folder actions: Open, save, move, and explore.

Private designers:

Create and edit their own private (not public) objects, including dashboards, dashboard folders, filters, and filter folders. Private objects can only be saved into the user’s folder and can only be seen by the creator and the enterprise designer.

View private and public objects.

Accessible folders + allowed actions: My folders and shared folders — open; My folders only — save, move, and explore.

Other roles that you may want to assign in combination with a designer role:

Schedulers:

Schedule the export of dashboards, documents, and reports.

Alert users:

Create dashboard and threshold alerts.

View personal alerts and the breach history list.

About viewers

If your organization has purchased an Enterprise Server license, an unlimited number of users (known as viewers) are permitted view-only access to private and public objects (dashboards, filters, and folders). Viewers can view and interact with existing dashboards without using an Xtraction analyst license.

Users are considered viewers only if they are not assigned a user role. Once a user has an assigned role, each Xtraction session that they open in a browser will use an available license.

Accessible folders + allowed actions: My folders and shared folders — open. All other interaction is prevented by the absence of relevant rights.