User accounts

If the Auto Create Users option was enabled during installation, an account is automatically created the first time an authenticated user logs into Xtraction. However, you may want to manually set up user accounts ahead of time so that user roles are already assigned. The user settings you can edit include roles, access rights, group participation, variables, and passwords.

If your company has purchased an Enterprise Server license, you have the option of setting up an unlimited number of accounts to have view-only access to private and public dashboards and documents. These end users, known as "viewers," are not assigned a user role and do not consume an Xtraction analyst license when viewing content. Once a user has an assigned role, each Xtraction session that they open in a browser will use an available analyst license.

Before setting up user accounts, you need to create the user groups, data policies, and variables that will be associated with the accounts:

User groups: Create groups to control access to saved content within folders. For details, see User groups and folder security.

Data policies: Define policies to impose restrictions on user access to data. For details, see Data policies.

Variables: Create variables to filter dashboards and documents at the user-account level. For details, see Variables.

If you've set up Local authentication for a user but also want to enable Windows authentication for them, you can do so from Xtraction.

Viewing, logging off, and searching for users

As administrator, you can manage the Xtraction user list with the following procedures.

Displaying the folders of inactive users

You can enable an option to display the folders of inactive users in the folder lists on the Home page and on the Dashboard Designer and Document Designer menus for Save and Tools > Folders. These folders display with the icon.

Note that this option is always disabled on first login, is available for administrators only, and is applicable for just the current Xtraction session (it doesn't persist between sessions).