User accounts

If the Auto Create Users option was enabled in the Xtraction Settings utility during installation, an account is created automatically the first time a user accesses Xtraction. The Xtraction administrator also has the ability to manually set up and edit user accounts after installation. The user settings you can edit include privileges, group participation, variables, and passwords.

Before setting up user accounts, you need to create the data policies, groups, and variables that will be associated with the accounts:

Data policies: Impose restrictions on user access to data. For details, see Data policies.

Groups: Control access to saved content within folders. For details, see User groups and folder security.

Variables: Filter content that displays in a dashboard or document. For details, see Variables.

Allowing users view-only access
If your organization has purchased an Enterprise Server license, you can set up an unlimited number of users (known as "viewers") with view-only access to Xtraction dashboards. Viewers can view and interact with existing dashboards without taking up a user license. Users are considered viewers only if they are not assigned a user role. Once a user has an assigned role, each Xtraction session that they open in a browser will use an available license.

If you've set up Local authentication for a user but also want to enable Windows authentication for them, you can do so from Xtraction.

Viewing, logging off, and searching for users

As administrator, you can manage the list of current Xtraction users with the following procedures.