About Record Locking
Use record locking to:
- Prevent data conflicts.
- Prevent access to unsaved/uncommitted edits.
The record locking interface and behaviors vary depending on your system's record locking configuration (settings and security rights), who is viewing the locked record (lock holder or another User trying to access the locked record), and the CSM client (Desktop Client, Browser Client, or Portal).
Depending on the configuration, the record locking can be either enforced or informational, a record can be locked either automatically (implicitly) or manually (explicitly), and a lock can expire/be renewed before expiration.
Depending on the configuration:
- Record locking can be either:
- Enforced: Prevents Users from editing a record when it is locked by another User (the lock holder).
- Informational: Warns Users when a record is currently being edited by another User so that Users do not attempt to edit the same record.
- A record can be locked either:
- A record can be unlocked either:
- Automatically: When the lock holder saves an edit, when the lock holder logs out of his session, or after a configured expiration. Lock holders can be given the option to renew a lock before it expires.
- Manually: When the lock holder clicks the Locked By You button on the CSM Desktop Client toolbar or CSM Browser Client toolbar.
A User can manage (view and unlock) all his User locks (records locked by him) using the Record Locking Manager in the CSM Desktop Client (Edit>User Locks). A system administrator can manage (view and unlock) Global locks (all locked records for all Users) using the Record Locking Manager in CSM Administrator (CSM Admin>Settings>Global Lock Manager).
- A lock can expire and can be renewed before expiration.
Record locking is enabled and configured in CSM Administrator. Global locks are managed (viewed and unlocked) using the Record Locking Manager in CSM Administrator. With security rights, Users can alsoview and unlock their own locked records in the CSM Desktop Client.