Avalanche powered by Wavelink

Home 

Wiping a Device

The wipe action allows an administrator to remotely unenroll and remove data from a device. A device wipe may perform differently depending on the OS type and enrollment type of the device.

ClosedAndroid or iOS Devices

When you perform a wipe action for an Android or iOS device, you have the following options:

Selective wipe

Removes data associated with Avalanche payloads from the device and unenrolls the device. The device will remain in the Avalanche inventory, but will be unmanaged.

If the standard, device admin enabler is on the device, files from file payloads, custom properties, and the enabler will remain on the device.

If the Android Enterprise enabler is on the device, the enabler and work profile will remain on the device.

Selective wipe + delete

Removes data associated with Avalanche payloads, and deletes the device from the Avalanche inventory.

If the standard, device admin enabler is on the device, files from file payloads, custom properties, and the enabler will remain on the device.

If the Android Enterprise enabler is on the device, the enabler and work profile will remain on the device.

Factory reset

Removes all data from the device, restores it to its factory settings, and deletes it from the Avalanche inventory.

Erase factory reset protection data. Selecting this wipe option removes the requirement for an authorized account to sign in on the device after factory reset. For more information about factory reset protection, see Restrictions Payload.

Erase SD card data. Selecting this wipe option erases all data on the SD card in addition to factory resetting the device.

Remove work profile

This option is only available for Android Enterprise devices managed with work profiles. Selecting this wipe option will only remove Avalanche data and the work profile. The rest of the device's data will remain intact.

You must have an Apple ID associated with the device in order to perform a device wipe for an iOS device.

If the device is an Android device, the selective wipe does not remove the Avalanche Enabler from the device. For information on removing the Enabler from the device, see Removing Avalanche from a Smart Device.

To perform a remote device wipe on a smart device

1.From the Inventory tab, click the name of the device you want to wipe.
The Device Details page appears.

2.Click the Wipe button at the top of the page.

3.Select the type of wipe you want to perform and click Wipe.

ClosedAIDC Devices

When you have applied an AIDC mobile device profile that has Device Wipe folders configured, you can perform a remote wipe of the device. A remote wipe will delete the contents of the folders and reboot the device. If files in the folders were unable to be deleted because they were in use, the Enabler will attempt to delete them after the reboot. If the server is unable to contact the device using a TCP/IP connection, it will attempt to send the wipe command using SMS.

If there is more than one AIDC mobile device profile applied on the device, all of the Device Wipe folders for all of the applied profiles will be deleted during a device wipe. For information on configuring Device Wipe folders, see Configuring Device Wipe Folders.

Avalanche does not provide a method for restoring any of the information in the deleted folders.

To perform a remote device wipe on an AIDC device

1.From the Inventory tab, click the name of the device you want to wipe.
The Device Details page appears.

2.Click the Wipe button at the top of the page.

3.Confirm the wipe action to delete all files in the Device Wipe folders.


Was this article useful?