Publish a Blueprint
Publish a Blueprint to commit definition changes to a test or live system. Before you publish, you are prompted to select before and after publishing operations.
Good to know:
- Publish a Blueprint to a backup test system before publishing to your live system so that you can experiment and verify that everything works.
- If you have transferred protected content from one CSM system to another via Blueprint or a Protected mApp™ Solution, the protected content is transferred in its original format. This means that if it could not be edited or deleted in the original system, then that will be the same in the new system.
- Blueprints can be published out of order (that is, if you create Blueprint 1 and Blueprint 2, you can publish Blueprint 2 and then Blueprint 1). However, depending on what you changed, you might get unexpected results.
- A Blueprint contains only those objects that you have modified, so if one administrator works on Incidents and one works on Assets, there will not be any problem. If, however, they both work on Incidents, the changes of the last published Blueprint might overwrite the changes of the previous administrator.
- Use the Cherwell Scheduler to publish the Blueprint after hours when all of the users are out of the system.
- Foreign keys are automatically updated when you publish if the Blueprint contains changes made to foreign key settings for validated fields. The update only occurs for modified foreign key fields and foreign key fields referenced by those fields. For example, foreign keys for the Sub-Category field would be updated if changes are made to the Category field.
To publish a Blueprint:
- From the Blueprint Editor menu bar, select File > Publish Blueprint.
You can also publish a Blueprint by selecting Publish Blueprint in the Blueprints field group of the Blueprint Editor Task Pane.
- Select Before publishing operations:
Option Description Save Blueprint
Select to save the Blueprint before publishing it.
If the Blueprint is not yet saved to a named .bp file, you are prompted to name and save it. If changes are not yet saved, you are prompted to save them to the active .bp file.
Create Rollback Blueprint Select to create a Blueprint rollback file. When published, the changes made by the published Blueprint file are undone. Scan for errors Scans the Blueprint for potential errors (for more information, see Scan a Blueprint). The scan looks for missing items and alerts you to any changes you must make. Stop on Warnings Select to stop the publishing process when an error is encountered. Only Scan Enabled Cultures Select to scan Business Object property values for all cultures that are enabled in your system. For more information, see Manage Cultures. Only Scan Current Culture Select to scan Business Object property values for the culture selected in the Culture Selector when you publish a Blueprint. Scan All Cultures Select to scan Business Object property values for all cultures available in your system, even disabled cultures, when you publish a Blueprint. Lock System
(Selected by default) Select to lock the system, preventing users from logging in to CSM Clients while administrative work is being done.
System administrators can log in to CSM Administrator, but users cannot log in to clients. Users already logged are not automatically logged out of the system.
Pause All Services (Selected by default) Select to pause all CSM microservices (Automation Process Service, E-mail and Event Monitor, Mail Delivery Service, and Scheduling Service). Ignore Conflicts Select to bypass the Blueprint Conflict Resolution feature.
- Select Publishing operations:
Option Description Save in the database
(Selected by default) Select to save the Blueprint in the database to which you are connected.
We recommend selecting this option to improve system performance when publishing a Blueprint.
- If you choose not to save a Blueprint in the database by clearing this check box, the Blueprint must be saved and rolled back. Consequently, the Save Blueprint and Create Rollback Blueprint options in the Before publishing field group are automatically selected and disabled.
- You can only consolidate Blueprints that are saved in the database. When consolidating Blueprints, you must remove any Blueprints that do not have the Save in the database check box selected.
Publish changes Select to publish the Blueprint to the database to which you are connected.
- Select After publishing operations:
Option Description Rebuild Full-Text Catalog
Select to rebuild the Microsoft SQL Server Full-Text Catalog. If you change Business Objects and fields to include or exclude them in a Full-Text Search, the catalog must be rebuilt for the changes to take effect.
Include Business Objects and fields in the Full-Text Searches by selecting the Include in Full-Text Search check box in the Business Object Properties window and the Field Properties window.For more information on these windows, see Define Search Results Properties for a Business Object and Define General Properties for a Field, respectively.
Restart Services Select to restart the CSM microservices you paused before the publish. If you do not select this check box, you must manually restart the Services using the Server Manager. For more information, see About the Server Manager. Unlock System Select to unlock the CSM system if you locked before the publish. If you do not select this check box, you must manually unlock the CSM system in CSM Administrator (Security). For more information, see Lock/Unlock the System. Run a One-Step Action
Select to run a One-Step Action after the publish process is complete. Select a recently used One-Step Action from the drop-down list or select the Ellipses button to edit it or to select a different one.
When publishing a Blueprint that came from a mApp Solution, the One-Step Action may be pre-populated.
This option is not available via the CSM Configuration command-line.
The Action must be an unassociated One-Step Action (not tied to a particular Business Object).
- Select Publish.